

AUSTRALIAN GREYHOUND RAGING ASSOCIATION

MEDIA RELEASE

12th January 2015

Ladbrokes

Box Eight Holds the key to Ladbrokes Feature Finals

By Ellen Dwyer GBOTA Business Development Manager

Box eight will hold the key to both the Ladbrokes Paws of Thunder (520m) and Ladbrokes Summer Plate (720m) finals at Wentworth Park next Saturday (January 17). Melbourne Cup winner Dyna Villa drew box eight for next week's \$100,000 to the winner Ladbrokes Paws of Thunder Final and will be hard to hold out winning the opening heat tonight (January 10) in a slick 29.64.

Dyna Villa was one of four Victorians to record victories in the Ladbrokes Paws of Thunder heats and qualify for Wentworth Park's first Group 1 final for 2015. Other winners hailing from the south were all from the Andrea Dailly kennels, with Maximum Lil (29.99), Spring Leaf (29.92) and Kerrigan Bale (29.80) all recording good wins.

With four local hopes also getting through, it will be Jason Mackay's Assertive Bella in box one which will provide the greatest danger after she recorded an all the way 29.82 victory in the last race of the night.

On a rain soaked track, Assertive Bella's ten length victory was the greatest winning margin of the night and will be well suited to the inside draw in the final. Other NSW qualifiers include Coolabah Jet (29.88), Whittaker (30.17) and Shoulders (29.64).

Shoulder was super impressive in his heat win, rolling the likes of Dyna Double One, Oakvale Destiny and Allen Deed.

Those which didn't qualify will now get the option of whether to line up in the consolation event, The Collerson, named in honour of veteran greyhound scribe, Jeff Collerson. Both events will attract plenty of interest, with a big crowd expected trackside to see the racing on January 17.

Continued on Page 2...

AUSTRALIAN GREYHOUND RAGING ASSUGIATION

Saturday's racing will be supported by the running of the Ladbrokes Bar and Jazz Band outside, as well as Ladbrokes on course with sign up opportunities.

GROUP ONE - Ladbrokes Paws Of Thunder \$100,000 to the winner

Box Draw and local Fixed Market for the Ladbrokes Paws of Thunder:

\$100	,000 to the winner Group	1 Ladbrokes Paws of	Thunder 5	520m
Box	Greyhound	Trainer	Price	H/T
1	Assertive Belle	Jason Mackay	\$5	29.82
2	Kerrigan Bale	Andrea Dailly(VIC)	\$7	29.80
3	Spring Leaf	Andrea Dailly(VIC)	\$13	29.92
4	Coolabah Jet	Jodie Lord	\$11	29.88
5	Whittaker	Julie Fletcher	\$9	30.17
6	Shoulders	Anthony Azzopardi	\$5	29.64
7	Maximum Lil	Andrea Dailly(VIC)	\$15	29.99
8	Dyna Villa	Jenny Hunt(VIC)	\$2.50	29.64
(9)	Zipping Tarn (RES)	Anthony Azzopardi	\$16	
10	Dyna Double One (RES)	Andrea Dailly(VIC)	\$5	

Local expert's selections for the Ladbrokes Paws of Thunder final are as follows.

4 St O : 1 C	<u> </u>
1 st Spring Leaf	1 st Dyna Villa
2 nd Dyna Villa	2 nd Spring Leaf
3 rd Shoulders	3 rd Shoulders
3 rd Shoulders	3 rd Should

What's happening on race night?

Gates open at 5.30pm for Saturday's meeting.

SPECIAL GROUP 1 LADBROKES PAWS OF THUNDER DINNERSATURDAY JANUARY 173 COURSE MEAL AND ALL DRINKS (6.30 - 10.30) \$99 PER PERSON (Minimum Booking 4 adults).

It is the perfect reason to get trackside and witness two great feature finals.



Catering & Bar

Wentworth Park provides diverse choices within the venue. There is the snack bar on the ground floor and there are take away stalls on the concourse leading from the grandstand. There are fully licensed bars on the ground floor. The Bistro on the lower ground floor provides patrons the opportunity to order from an extensive menu, with meals cooked to order, and delivered to your table, with Bar facilities in the Bistro.

The 2015 'Collerson' conducted in recognition of Daily Telegraph Journalist Jeff Collerson's contribution to the Greyhound Industry is also on the great race card this Saturday night.

Listed below are the past winners of Paws Of Thunder which was formerly known as the St.Leger and first run in 1957. The NSW NCA restructured the prizemoney and the race name in 2001.

1957 Idle Sign, 1958 Ebony Minda, 1959 Super Samson, 1960 Constant Raider, 1961 Elsie Moss, 1962 Black Top, 1963 Miss Warcroft, 1964 Revival King, 1965 Daily Tide, 1966 Sunset Fire, 1967 Another Glitter, 1968 Zoom Top, 1969 Beau Brin, 1970 Size Seven, 1971 Romantic Top, 1972 Likely Light, 1973 Trella Light, 1974 Busy's Chief, 1975 Mighty Aussie, 1976 Palaver, 1977 Fine Arama, 1978 Oberon Lily, 1979 Lord Raleigh, 1980 Glider's Son, 1981 Promises Free, 1982 Winifred Bale, 1983 Winston Lass, 1984 Beach Rhythm 1985 Another Flash, 1986 Memories Gate, 1987 See Yah, 1988 Grizzly Bear, 1989 Jessica Kate, 1990 Dixie Lass, 1991 Little Denver, 1992 Iago, 1993 Leon Mal, 1994 Zazziam, 1995 Nine Inch Nails, 1996 Tamborine Dancer, 1997 Elle's Commando, 1998 Waiwera Marika, 1999 Stately Bird, 2000 Some Secret, 2001 Suellen Bale, 2002 Modern Assassin, 2003 Winsome Shot, 2004 Kobble Rock 2005 Pure Octane 2006 Suave Fella, 2007 Leprechaun Pace, 2008 One Tree Hill, 2009 Cindeen Shelby, 2010 Lochinvar Marlow, 2011 Fancy Will and 2013 Sheikha and 2014 Iona Seven.

For any further information contact NSW GBOTA Ellen Dwyer: (02) 8587 1210.

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown AGRA Publicity Officer Tel: 03 97691234

Mob: 0423 129 950 nbrown@agra.com.au Howard Ashton
AGRA Executive Officer

Tel: 08 8243 7100 Mob: 0438 042 838